May 13, 2015

Lung Foundation Australia Committee Update

Countless community and clinical volunteers currently and have generously donated their time, skills and support to the projects throughout Lung Foundation Australia over the past 25 years.

This week marks National Volunteer week and the Lung Foundation thanks the volunteers who helped them in the journey to achieve our vision to ensure lung health is a priority for all in Australia.

Lung Foundation Australia CEO Heather Allan said we wouldn’t be able to do the significant amount of work without the support of all of our volunteers.

“We’re supported by an ever-increasing network of dedicated clinical and community volunteers,” Mrs Allan said.

“Like all dynamic organisations, change is unavoidable and we’ve recently had some movement in our Committees,” she said.

“We welcomed Professor Ian Yang as the new chair of the COPD-X Guidelines Committee, Dr Eli to the role of Deputy Chair-COPD-X Guidelines Committee and Professor Brian Smith has also joined the COPD-X Guidelines Committee.

“We would like thank Professor Michael Abramson for his many years of strong leadership to the COPD-X Guidelines Committee.

“Professor Christine McDonald has also been appointed the new Chair of the COPD National Program after being the Deputy Chair of this committee for many years.

“Dr Nicole Goh has been appointed the new Chair of the PIVOT Consultative Group.

“We thank Professor Adam Jaffe for his leadership to the PIVOT Consultative Group and look forward to working with him as the new Chair of the Young Lungs Advisory Group.”

Mrs Allan said the Lung Foundation team members looked forward to working with the new Chairpersons and Committee members as they continue to work on increasing uptake of COPD guidelines, education and resources in primary care for the benefit of the patients.

If you are interested in volunteering at Lung Foundation Australia please call 1800 654 301 or email