Consumer Committees

The committees assist the organisation and Board by providing strategic advice on matters related to lung health, through representing the interests of their lung disease or lung cancer and providing insight into the lived experience.

What are the Consumer Committees?

The committees may be asked to provide advice on a variety of issues and topics across the areas of information, support, research, advocacy and community awareness. Responsibilities include:

  • To provide Lung Foundation Australia advice on lived experience with lung disease and lung cancer including the pressure points and impacts across the consumer journey.
  • To advise and provide feedback on information, resources, campaigns and marketing activities used by Lung Foundation Australia to raise awareness of the prevalence, burden and consequences of lung disease and lung cancer.
  • To review and be involved in the design, planning, implementation and maintenance of services and information resources.
  • To identify and prioritise areas requiring advocacy and fundraising.
  • To develop annual work plans to guide activity.

To represent the many disease areas we cover, Lung Foundation Australia has five consumer committees:

  • Chronic Lung Disease Consumer Advisory Committee – representing COPD and Chronic Lung Conditions
  • Lung Cancer Consumer Advisory Committee
  • Rare Lung Disease Consumer Advisory Committee – representing Interstitial Lung Disease (ILD), Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis (IPF), Pulmonary Fibrosis (PF) and Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension (PAH).
  • Young Lungs Consumer Advisory Committee
  • Bronchiectasis Consumer Advisory Committee

What is expected of a Lung Foundation Australia Committee Member?

Members of the consumer committees represent of all those impacted by lung disease and lung cancer, including patients, family, carers and friends from across Australia.

Lung Foundation Australia seek individuals with a thorough understanding of their disease area, are passionate about Lung Foundation Australia’s mission and objectives, and who are open, honest and accountable.

Members receive formal inductions from Lung Foundation Australia at the start of their two-year tenure and are expected to attend 2-4 committee meetings per calendar year, held by video conference.

The role of a member is voluntary, and Lung Foundation Australia covers all reasonable travel and accommodation expenses related directly to any in-person official activities.

Meet the Consumer Advisory Committee Members