Research Awards

Although respiratory illnesses affect 29 per cent of Australians and costs the health system an estimated $4.5 billion per year, research in this area receives only 1.9% of the funding from The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) – Australia’s lead health research funding body.

  • Only five per cent of national tumour-specific funding in 2013 went to lung cancer despite lung cancer being the biggest cancer killer.
  • Other chronic lung diseases like COPD have a similar research stories to tell with NHMRC funding for COPD falling by more than a million dollars between 2013 and 2014.

That’s why we invest more than a million dollars each year in research awards and research platforms.

Lung Foundation Australia recognises the value of bringing key researchers together to generate ideas, data, and opportunities to collaborate.

Some of the key platforms we support include:

Click on the flyer below for a full list of the 2016 and 2017 Research Award recipients:

2016/17 Research Awards Recipients (416 KB)

Congratulations to the 2017 Research Award recipients

Lung Foundation Australia/Boehringer Ingelheim Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) Research Fellowship 2017/2018 Anna Hudson, Neuroscience Research Australia$160,000 over two years
Lung Foundation Australia/Lizotte Family Research Award for Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis (IPF) Research Michael Schuliga, University of Newcastle$5,000
Lung Foundation Australia/Ludwig Engel Grant-in-Aid for Physiological Research Award Peter Middleton, Westmead Hospital and Westmead Institute of Medical Research$5,000
Lung Foundation Australia/Ivan Cash Grant-in-Aid for Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis (IPF) Research Yet Hong Khor, Austin Health, Institute for Breathing and Sleep$5,000
Lung Foundation Australia/Cochrane Airways Australia Scholarship 2017 Hayley Barnes, Department of Allergy, Immunology and
Respiratory Medicine, Alfred Hospital
David Serisier Memorial Award for Translational Research
in Bronchiectasis
Su-Ling Loo$1,000
John Read Prize for Physiological ResearchMahesh Dharmakamara$500