Our Board

The Lung Foundation Australia Board consists of eight directors who volunteer their expertise and time to help improve lung health and reduce the impact of lung disease for all Australians. Led by Professor Christine Jenkins, our Board delegates responsibility for day-to-day operations to our CEO who, together with our Executive Team, is accountable to the Board.

Professor Christine Jenkins AM – Chair Board Member since September 2012

Professor Christine Jenkins has a strong commitment to respiratory practice and clinical research, particularly in the management of asthma and Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD). She is the Professor of Respiratory Medicine at UNSW Sydney, Clinical Professor at the University of Sydney, and a Thoracic Physician at Concord Hospital. She also heads the Respiratory Group at The George Institute for Global Health, Sydney, Australia. Professor Jenkins has played major roles in advocacy and leadership for lung health in Australia, has over 180 publications including three books, and has contributed to respiratory guidelines in Australia and internationally. She has made significant contributions to the community sector through senior leadership positions for government, health professional and not-for-profit organisations. She was awarded Member, Order of Australia in 2002 for Services to Respiratory Medicine, and was President of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand from 2007-2009.

Mr Andrew Churchill – Deputy Chair Board Member since March 2010

Mr Andrew Churchill is an experienced executive and director with a strong business background in the professional services, telecommunications and information technology sectors. Mr Churchill has significant experience in strategy development and implementation, paired with strong financial management skills. He has provided a range of business management, mentoring, coaching and advisory services through his management services firm Churchill Associates, and has previously held CEO and Board positions in both private and public companies.

Professor Martin Phillips Board Member since September 2012

Professor Martin Phillips is a Clinical Professor at the University of Western Australia and a Respiratory Physician at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Perth where he is the Director of the Lung Cancer Service and Interventional Pulmonology Service. He has served on several committees in the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand and co-chaired Special Interest Groups in lung cancer and interventional pulmonology. His research interests include asthma, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), lung cancer and interventional pulmonology. Professor Phillips also delivers practical training courses each year on interventional pulmonology and medical thoracoscopy.



Dr David Michail Board Member since March 2013

Dr David Michail is a Consultant Respiratory and Sleep Physician working as a Senior Visiting Medical Officer at Westmead Hospital and with specialist services. He is the Clinical Lead of the Western Sydney Multidisciplinary Lung Cancer Group and is the Director of the Pulmonary Hypertension Service at Westmead Hospital, as well as a member of the Clinical Trials Program of the Ludwig Engel Centre for Respiratory Research. In addition to his roles in lung cancer and pulmonary hypertension, he has a key interest in ambulatory models of care for sleep disorders and their management in primary care. Dr Michail also chairs Lung Foundation Australia’s Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension Committee.

Ms Kathleen Cummings Board Member since April 2014

Kathleen has 30 years of experience in the banking and finance industry. She is highly experienced in strategic planning, financial and risk management, and specialises in distribution and talent management. As an integral member of the Retail Banking Leadership Team, Kathy built CommBank’s mortgage broker business from start-up to its current market dominance. She also played a key role in the evolution of the mortgage broking industry through her thought leadership and direct involvement with the predominant industry body, the Mortgage and Finance Association of Australia. More recently, Kathy has been consulting to the finance industry on an emerging business model in digital banking.

Professor Sarath Ranganathan Board Member since April 2014

Professor Sarath Ranganathan is an experienced and internationally recognised Paediatric Respiratory Physician and medical researcher. He is currently the Director of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine at the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne and a leading authority on lung disease in young children with cystic fibrosis. His areas of expertise include cystic fibrosis, paediatric asthma, allergy, paediatric bronchoscopy, tuberculosis and lower respiratory tract infection. Professor Ranganathan has also published more than 170 peer-reviewed publications.

Ms Angela Ratcliffe AICD Board Member since December 2018

Angela has over 25 years business experience specialising in Marketing, Sales and General Management working in Consumer, Industrial and Healthcare Sectors and has worked in Australia and the United Kingdom. She has been a member of ANZ Executive Leadership Teams for 3M, Staples and Philips and is currently the Asia Pacific Business Leader for Philips Sleep and Respiratory Care. Angela is an experienced director in both not-for-profit and commercial sectors and is passionate about lung health and improving the lives of those with COPD.